AAF Executive Director and Board

Executive Director

Mark Riccobono, Executive Director
National Nonprofit Executive
Baltimore, MD


The governing body of the Action Fund is a twelve-member Board of Directors, all of whom are blind and receive no financial compensation for their services. The members of the Board have succeeded in a variety of occupations and activities and have learned to deal with blindness and its problems.

Barbara Loos Barbara Loos, President
Community Leader, Teacher, and Mentor
Lincoln, Nebraska
Julie Deden Julie Deden, First Vice President
Executive Director, Colorado Center for the Blind
Littleton, Colorado
Sandra Halverson Sandra Halverson, Second Vice President
Medical Transcriptionist, retired
Arlington, Virginia
Gary Mackenstadt

Gary Mackenstadt, Secretary
Businessman, Retired
Sequim, Washington

James Gashel, Treasurer
Business Executive, Retired
Honolulu, Hawaii

Cassandra McNabb-McKinney, Board Member
Funeral Director
Keene, New Hampshire


Mary Ellen Gabias, Board Member
National and International Employment
for the Blind Advisor
Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada

John Pare

John Pare, Board Member
National Consumer Representative
Baltimore, Maryland

Bennett Prows

Bennett Prows, Board Member
Lawyer, Office for Civil Rights in the US Department of Health and Human Services
Kirkland, Washington

Gary Wunder, Board Member
Editor, National Federation of the Blind Braille Monitor
Columbia, Missouri


Fred Schroeder

Fredric K. Schroeder, Board Member
President, World Blind Union
Vienna, Virginia

Pam Schnurr, Board Member
Businesswoman and Entrepreneur
Indianapolis, Indiana